Improvised & Experimental is a series of sound installations organised since November 2016 in Berlin. The aim of the series is to mainly present free improvised and experimental sound and music with no score (with occasional certain exceptions). So far 88 performances were organised at 6 different locations in Berlin, Germany and Porto, Portugal, and with more than three hundreds Berlin based and international artists from the experimental music scene. Starting in a white cube gallery at Rosa-Luxemburg Strasse 26, the series was established with an idea of Guilherme Rodrigues. The installations moved later to a more chamber music setting venue at Gormannstrasse 19 and later to a former seat of Hošek Contemporary on board of Motor Ship Heimatland in Historischer Hafen close to Fischerinsel. 

Improvised & Experimental No. 89

-Wednesday 12th August 2020 at 7 pm

-1st set - ACTIVITY CENTER (Burkhard Beins (percussion, strings), Michael Renkel (strings, percussion)) & Mat Pogo (voice)

-2nd set - Antonio Borghini (double bass)

-3rd set - Xavier Lopez (electronics), Sara Persico (voice,  electronics)

fb event

Improvised & Experimental No. 90

-Wednesday 19th August 2020 at 7 pm

-1st set - Eric Wong (laptop), Fredrik Rasten (tuning forks)

-2nd set - Samuel Hall (drums), Carina Khorkhordina (trumpet)

-3rd set - Edith Steyer (saxophone, clarinet), Chris Heenan (contrabass clarinet)

fb event

Improvised & Experimental No. 91

-Tuesday 25th August 2020 at 7 pm

Hiroyasu Tsuri, Christiania Krueger and Joshua Murphy

fb event

Improvised & Experimental No. 92

-Wednesday 26th August 2020 at 7 pm

-1st set - Simon Rose (baritone sax), Nicola Hein (guitar)

-2nd set - Ekheo (processed voices, electronics)

-3rd set - Lara Gallagher (sax, live electronics, vocals), Cormac Fitzpatrick (guitar and live electronics)

fb event

Über die Weise von Liebe und Tod by Ektoras Tartanis - World Premiere

-Tuesday 1st September 2020 at 7 pm

-opera production by the students of UdK and directed by Tilman A. D. Siepen

Other performances : September 4, 5 & 6, 2020

fb event

Improvised & Experimental No. 93

-Wednesday 2nd September 2020 at 7 pm

-1st set - Rieko Okuda (viola), Antti Virtaranta (double bass)

-2nd set - Sofia Salvo (baritone saxophone), Guido Kohn (cello)

-3rd set - Davide Piersanti (trombone), Nikolaus Neuser (trumpet)

fb event

Improvised & Experimental No. 94

-Thursday 3rd September 2020 at 7 pm

 Launch of the Book 'The Techniques of Tuba Playing' by Jack Adler-McKean.

The evening will include a world premiere from special guest Georges Aperghis, music from Athena Corcoran-Tadd recently published by Edition Gravis, and an improvised experimental sound installation with Lorena Izquierdo Aparicio.

fb event

Improvised & Experimental No. 95

-Wednesday 9th September 2020 at 7 pm

-1st set - CARDINAL POINTS (media and interconnectivity)

-2nd set - Simon Rose (saxophone), Marie Takahashi (viola)

-3rd set - Gábor Hartyáni (cello), Annukka Hirvonen (dance)

fb event

Improvised & Experimental No. 96

-Wednesday 16th September 2020 at 7 pm

-1st set - Lena Czerniawska (lights), Philippe Lemoine (tenor sax), Simon Rose (baritone sax)

-2nd set - Bálint Bolcsó (live electronics), Oli Mayne (synthesiser, effects), Gábor Kitzinger (live generated visuals)

-3rd set - Korhan Erel (synthesiser), Eli Ningu (synthesiser)

fb event

Improvised & Experimental No. 97

-Wednesday 23rd September 2020 at 7 pm

-1st set - Michael Thieke (clarinet), Annukka Hirvonen and Roberta Ricci (dance)

-2nd set - Yuko Kaseki (dance), Emilio Gordoa (percussions)

-3rd set - KOKORAMA (modular synthesiser, visuals)

fb event

Improvised & Experimental No. 98

-Friday 25th September 2020 at 7 pm

-1st set - Eliad Wagner (electronics), Helli Winkler (amplified cello)

-2nd set - Ligia Liberatori (vocals), Guido Kohn (cello)

-3rd set - Hanna Schörken (voice)

fb event

Improvised & Experimental No. 99

-Wednesday 30th September 2020 at 7 pm

-1st set - Andreas Willers (guitar)

-2nd set - Les Marquises - Emilie Škrijelj (accordeon, turntable), Tom Malmendier (percussions)

-3rd set - Hervé Boghossian (steel-string guitar)

fb event

Improvised & Experimental No. 100

-Wednesday 7th October 2020 at 7 pm

-1st set - Guilherme Rodrigues (cello), Harri Sjöström (sopranino and soprano saxophone)

-2nd set - Anna Barth (butoh dance), Francis Heery (electronics), Claudia Risch (bass clarinet)

-3rd set - Kristin Guttenberg (dance, flute), Pom Bouvier-b - (electronics), Vincent Laju (cello, shinobue)

fb event

mala voadora

Rua do Almada 277, Porto, Portugal

Improvised & Experimental No. 101

-Friday 23rd October 2020 at 7 pm

-Gil Dionísio (violin)- 

Improvised & Experimental No. 102

-Saturday 24th October 2020 at 7 pm

-Paulo Alexandre Jorge (saxofone)-

Improvised & Experimental No. 103

-Sunday 25th October 2020 at 7 pm

-Yedo Gibson (tenor sax), Alvaro Rosso (double bass), Pedro Melo Alves (drums)-

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

© 2020 Hošek Contemporary, Berlin